top of page

Young Investigator Awards


Congratulations to the winners of the Young Investigators Awards 2017

Kindly supported by

The Winner of 2017's Young Investigator Award (Basic Science) went to

Jennifer Borowsky, Queensland Institute of Medical Research

The role of APC in WNT pathway activation in serrated neoplasia

Kelly Hayward, University of Queensland

High-risk medication-related problems are prevalent in people with decompensated cirrhosis


Lochlan Fennell,, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute

Single nucleotide polymorphism rs1800734 predisposes dysplastic sessile serrated adenomas to develop microsatellite instability through promotion of MLH1 promoter methylation

Ammar Kheir, Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Hospital

Prevalence and variable detection of sessile serrated polyps in young adults undergoing index diagnostic colonoscopy

Abha Kaul, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital

Can cirrhosis-specific clinical criteria identify a subset of patients with advanced cirrhosis who might benefit from a more supportive model of care?

Futoshi Kawamata, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute

Copy number profiles of paired primary and metastatic colorectal cancer to investigate clonal tumour changes

Richard Lee, Princess Alexandra Hospital

Factors influencing the need for endoscopic intervention in oesophageal meat bolus impaction: a retrospective, multi-centre study

Patrina Kellar, Logan Hospital

Mental health care in chronic hepatitis C patients: the unmet need in interferon-free treatment

bottom of page