top of page

Young Investigator Awards


Congratulations to the winners of the Young Investigators Awards 2018

Kindly supported by

The Winner of 2018's Young Investigator Award (Basic Science) went to

Martha Zakrzewski, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute

The inflammatory bowel disease protective variant IL23R is associated with an increased abundance of beneficial bacteria and diversity in the ileal microbiome in healthy individuals

Lochlan Fennell, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute

Transcript profiling of KRAS mutant colorectal cancers to identify clinically actionable drug targets in subsets of cancers


Anton Lord, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute

Development and evaluation of a risk assessment tool to improve clinical triage accuracy for colonoscopic investigations

Muhammad Asif Shahzad, Princess Alexandra Hospital

Early or Delayed Endoscopy for Oesophageal Meat Bolus Impaction “Get up at midnight or wait until Morning?”

Abdulnasser Lafta, The Prince Charles Hospital

A clinical pathway to manage patients with decompensated cirrhosis; assessing the level of compliance with evidence-based guidelines

Rohit Gupta, The Prince Charles Hospital

Understanding MHE: Screening, Diagnosis and Complications

Andrew Lee, Princess Alexandra Hospital

A decentralised, multidisciplinary model of care facilitates treatment of hepatitis C in regional & remote Queensland

Emily Lim, Townsville Hospital

Linked color imaging versus white light: a randomised tandem colonoscopy study of adenoma miss rates

bottom of page